Swimming Pool Help

Chemistry and homework help forum.

Organic Chemistry, Analytical Chemistry, Biochemistry, Physical Chemistry, Computational Chemistry, Theoretical Chemistry, High School Chemistry, Colledge Chemistry and University Chemistry Forum.

Share your chemistry ideas, discuss chemical problems, ask for help with scientific chemistry questions, inspire others by your chemistry vision!

Please feel free to start a scientific chemistry discussion here!

Discuss chemistry homework problems with experts!

Ask for help with chemical questions and help others with your chemistry knowledge!

Moderators: Xen, expert, ChenBeier

PoolBloke

Swimming Pool Help

Post by PoolBloke »

Hi

I realise this is not exactly homework…but I haven't formally taken chemistry class for about 45 years…so I may be a bit rusty.

I work in the swimming pool industry and I have realised over the last 4 years or so there is a big misunderstanding in the industry around CO2 it is being blamed for runaway total alkalinity. I realised after thinking and my sketchy chemistry the issue is more likely hydroxide residual from sodium hypochlorite manufacturing.

To rectify this, I am writing an article, and it is heavy with chemical equations. That’s where I would like help.

I have attached the equations I have made, part from memory, part from bits and pieces on line and part from it simply makes sense ... to me anyway.
Equations.jpg
Equations.jpg (39.38 KiB) Viewed 954 times
As I said it is years since I did any chemistry, so I am likely to have unbalanced equations and other inconsistencies. I would appreciate the help in checking these.

It's more than possible some of these are incomplete as in missing part of the equation as it is how I think it is . I really appreciate the help.
ChenBeier
Distinguished Member
Distinguished Member

Re: Swimming Pool Help

Post by ChenBeier »

Equation
1.?? Dont understand what TA^2 * 10^pH -6.1 means
2. Correct
3 and 4. are the same , correct